Summertime Woes

by jenncard

One of my favorite summer activities is tanning. What other way can you spend hours sitting in one spot and not be perceived as a lazy slob? But the other day my Halvsie friend (Half-polynesian, a couple steps up from Mexican in the food chain) brought up a good point. Because our cocoa brown skin soaks up the sun with ease, we have to be extra careful. I’m not talking about possible skin cancer, I’m talking about looking too ethnic. While white people can lay out and get as brown as possible and look great – for halvsies there is a very fine line between having a sunkissed glow and looking like your fashion store of choice is Gen-X. I didn’t know that it was possible but white people have managed to take being brown away from Mexicans, the one (slight) advantage that we hold.