El Grito

by jenncard

Happy Mexican Independence Day to you all. As I’m sure you know, today marks 200 years of Mexico’s Independence from Spanish rule and 100 years of its Revolution that began in 1910 and toppled the dictator Porfirio Diaz (and I definitely did not copy and paste that from a Wikipedia page).

However, the real reason I wanted to blog today was to show this amazing icon I found on Google. I’m thinking of getting it made into a decal for my car.

As many of you know, I work on campus as a secretary in the paint shop. Along with student employees, BYU has hired about 15 full-time workers who are older and work as phase leaders on the paint projects around campus. Because I am such an excellent secretary, I know all their names and will wave to them when I see them around the school. There is one worker that you need to know in particular for this story. His name is Victor Pinto, and you guessed it, is Mexican. I would peg his age to be around 55 and he speaks with a strong Spanish accent. Well, the other day I was walking out of one of my classes with a girl whom I had sat next to. We were making small talk when I saw Victor, so I waved to him as we were walking past. The girl then proceeded to ask me, “Oh, is that your dad?”

Umm… What the hell people?

Of all my inappropriate encounters with people, I think this stands at the top of the list. Just because I may wave occasionally to people that share my ethnicity does not mean that I am related to them. Even if she did have the idea pop into her head that he might be my dad, I would have hoped that she would have kept it to herself unless I commented on it. Plus, earlier in the conversation the girl had asked me where I was from and I said “Idaho”, meaning that she was obviously not paying attention to the fact that my family doesn’t live here. I think the worst part is she asked it so innocently (she’s an Elementary Education major from Orem… you know the type) and didn’t realize that she had done anything socially unacceptable.

Nevertheless, let us set aside our difference on this day of celebration and give a grito for Independence and a big “Viva Mexico!”

